Humboldt High graduates 115 in class of 2017

Six Humboldt High School seniors were honored with Valedictorian or Salutatorian awards.

Katheryn Curran, Sophia Luu, Ivan Rasmussen, Johnathon Wer-geland, and Abigail Zaugg were named Valedictorians of the Hum-boldt High School graduating Class of 2017 at commencement ceremonies held Sunday afternoon, May 21, in the high school gymna-sium. The Salutatorian honor went to Elizabeth Duffield. Sophia Luu and Ivan Rasmussen were awarded the Marvyl Friesth Award.
The Marvyl Friesth Award orig-inated over 80 years ago following a tragic accident in which a student passed away. Because the class-mates of Marvyl Friesth felt so strongly about the high caliber of living and participation exempli-fied by this young woman, they initiated what has become an an-nual award to the top senior boy and girl.
This award is based on scholar-ship, character, sportsmanship, and leadership. The faculty nominates by ballot, and the senior class votes for the top senior boy and girl. Their names will be added to this plaque, which is normally located in the high school cafeteria as a standard of excellence for all fu-ture Humboldt High School stu-dents to follow.
Silver Cord Award recognition: Brooke Anderson, Brenna Howard, Dillon Kirchhoff, and Alyssa Pflibsen.
This year’s graduating class has 115 members and 23 are in Na-tional Honor Society. Twenty-seven students earned a 3.0-3.499 Grade Point Average during their four years at Humboldt High School.
To read more about academic and departmental awards and see more photos of 2017 HHS Awards Night, see this week's Humboldt Independent. Subscribe by clicking on the link at the top of this page.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet