Area players named to all-state softball team

A trio of Humboldt High School athletes received to post-season all-state softball honors by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.
Humboldt freshman pitcher Ellie Jacobson was named first-team all-state in Class 3A. Teammate Avery Terwillier, a senior shortstop, was named second-team while freshman slugger Mady Lange was selected third-team.
They helped Humboldt win the North Central Conference and advance to the state tournament last month, where the Wildcats finished fifth.
3A state champ Davenport Assumption had three players named to the 22-member first-team, including seniors Nicole Timmons and Emma Valainis, along with junior Hannah Kelley. West Marshall senior Kallie Malloy and Sioux Center senior Jessica Harald were also selected.
Center Point-Urbana had two players chosen in senior Katelyn Banning and junior Maddie Karr. Assumption coach Ron Ferrill was named Coach of the Year.
Joining Terwilliger on the 22-member second-team is West Marshall junior Brooke Snider, Spirit Lake junior Kelsey Kannenberg, Roland-Story junior Hailey Louw, Iowa Falls-Alden senior Lauren Keane, CPU junior Olivia Brecht and Assumption’s Sophie Van Severen and Hannah Wislander.
The 22-player third-team list also includes Clear Lake freshman Julia Merfeld, Sioux Center junior Shayla Post, Cherokee junior Lindsay Williams, Assumption eighth grader Olivia Wardlow and Carroll Kuemper Kalee Peter and Kayla Venner.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet