New mayors in Renwick and Dakota City

Kirk Whittlesey (left) and Mike Worthington (center) were elected to at-large seats on the Humboldt City Council. Whittlesey will be retaining his seat and Worthington will be new on the council, replacing Bret Davis. Humboldt Mayor Dan Scholl (right) ran unopposed and was re-elected to a two-year term. Humboldt Independent photos.

The towns of Renwick and Dakota City have new mayors for 2018, while some familiar faces reclaimed seats on city councils in area towns following Tuesday's municipal elections around the area.
Bode had a record 10 candidates for five seats on the city council. D.L. Peterson was the top vote-getter with 59, followed by Mark Dale, Robert “Bud” Douglas, Jess Tepner and Roger B. Rongved Sr., all being elected. Rongved and Tepner served on the city council in previous years. Royden Miller was elected mayor.
In Renwick, write-in candidate Taylor Kunert was elected mayor, according to the unofficial totals. There were a total of 62 write-in votes for mayor, with declared candidate Rick Larson receiving 23.
For city council, there were six candidates for three seats.
Hal Skiye, Fred Hefty and Michael Walker were the top vote-getters with 66, 62 and 36 votes respectively. Walker and Hefty are incumbents and Skiye served on the council until 2012. Dan L. Kraft was the top write-in candidate for the at-large vacancy. He has served on the council since last March.
In Gilmore City, Dennis Miller topped David Miller for mayor by a vote of 56-10. Lowell Johnson 57 votes and Lavonne Hoover 54, were the top vote-getters for city council, defeating J.D. Smith with 18 votes.
In Thor, Marc Ropte ran unopposed for mayor and won with 28 votes. Maxine Hoefer, Mike Toillion and Wayne White were all unopposed for the city council and won. Jacquie Glasspie and Adrianne Irving tied for the vacant council seat with 13 votes each. The Humboldt County Board of Supervisors will determine a winner at a special meeting on Thursday.
In Dakota City, Sean Phillips topped Eric Paul Brown for mayor, 54 to 23. Tim Myers and Jim Van Horn ran unopposed for seats on the city council and were re-elected.
In Humboldt, Mayor Dan Scholl ran unopposed and was re-elected with 155 votes. Kirk Whittlesey and Mike Worthington ran unopposed for seats on the city council and were elected with 153 and 146 votes respectively, according to unofficial totals.
Kim Jensen and Ross Sleiter were re-elected Humboldt Park Board Commissioners with 151 votes each.
All of the vote totals listed are unofficial until canvassed by the Humboldt County Board of Supervisors on Monday, Nov. 13.
For complete election results, read the Nov. 16 issue of The Humboldt Independent.

Rate this article: 
Average: 4.9 (19 votes)