Humboldt has a ‘Vision’

Pictured are members of the Humboldt Community Visioning design team along with some members of the local steering committee. Pictured seated from left: Design architect Dylan Jones with Bolton & Menk of DesMoines, Field Coordinator Patty Reisinger with Trees Forever, Humboldt Mayor and steering committee member Dan Scholl. Pictured standing from left: Steering committee members Travis Goedken, Todd Lee and Clayton Vorland. Other steering committee members not pictured: Bret Davis, Travis Fuller, Clifton Kalafatich, TC Loving, Jenna Mulford, Alissa O’Connor, Jess Poutre, Kent Thompson and Kirk Whittlesey.

The city of Humboldt is one of 10 communities that was selected to participate in the 2017 Iowa’s Living Roadways Community Visioning Program.
The program selects communities through a competitive application process, provides professional planning and design assistance along transportation corridors to small Iowa communities (those with populations of fewer than 10,000 people).
Goals for the Visioning Program include the following:
• Developing a conceptual plan and implementation strategies with local communities.
• Enhance the natural, cultural, and visual resources of communities.
• Assist local communities in using external funds as leverage for transportation corridor enhancement.
Each visioning community works through a planning process consisting of four phases of concept development: (1) Program initiation; (2) Needs assessment and goal setting; (3) Development of a concept plan; and (4) Implementation and sustained action.
Each visioning community is represented by a steering committee of local residents and stakeholders who take part in a series of meetings that are facilitated by field coordinators from Trees Forever. Iowa State University organizes design teams of professional landscape architects, design interns, and ISU faculty and staff. The program is sponsored by the Iowa Department of Transportation.
Humboldt Steering Committee participants included Bret Davis, Travis Fuller, Travis Goedken, Clifton Kalafatich, Todd Lee, TC Loving, Jenna Mulford, Alissa O’Connor, Jess Poutre, Dan Scholl, Kent Thompson, Clayton Vorland and Kirk Whittlesey.
Patty Reisinger with Trees Forever served as the project coordinator and professional landscape architect Dylan Jones with Bolton & Menk of Des Moines provided professional services in developing the report and feasibility study, along with assistance from Hannah Schmitz, landscape architecture intern at Iowa State University, and the Iowa State University landscape architecture team.
Read more about the specific community goals and analysis in today's Humboldt Independent. Print subscribers can access the online edition FREE. Click on the "Subscribe Today" button at the top of this page.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet