4-way race for District 2 Supervisor seat

There are no contests for local county offices with the exception of Supervisor District 2. There are four Republicans running for the seat being vacated by Carl Mattes. Citizens of the district will vote next Tuesday, June 5. The leading vote-getter must receive 35 percent of the vote to be declared the winner. Candidates from left to right: Brian Skow, Jim Crabtree, Sandy Loney and Todd George.

The 2018 political primary season is upon us, with primary election voting on Tuesday, June 5. In local candidates for county offices, all of the filings are on the Republican side, with most uncontested. The lone exception is Supervisor District 2, which includes the southwest portion of Humboldt (Precinct/Ward 1), all of Corinth Township and the southern half of Weaver Township.
Four candidates are seeking the Supervisor seat, Brian Skow, Jim Crabtree, Sandy Loney and Todd George. Other Republicans running unopposed for county office are Bruce Reimers, Supervisor District 1, Rick Pedersen Supervisor District 3, Jana Bratland, county treasurer, Diane Amundsen, county recorder and Jonathan Beaty, county attorney.
There are contested races to be decided on the state and federal levels. People may register as a Republican, Democrat or Libertarian, and can receive a ballot for that party. People can register and change their party affiliation at the polls. Absentee balloting in person is available at the Humboldt County Auditor's Office through June 4. The Auditor's Office will be open Saturday, June 2 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. for the purposes of absentee balloting. People with questions may call the office at (515) 332-1571.
To read the candidate profiles and see more information on the election, receive the Humboldt Independent. Subscribe by clicking on the link at the top of this page to secure your digital or print edition.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet