Wildcats place 10 on all-district football team

Humboldt challenged for a district title and football playoff berth up until the final two weeks of the 2018 season, so it was no surprise the Wildcats had 10 players named to the coaches’ all-district team.
Wildcat head coach Derrick Elman and his staff presented those awards in last week’s team banquet held on Oct. 30 at the high school.
“To have 10 players get chosen says a lot about our team and to have seven of them be defensive players shows where we hung our hat all year, which was on defense,” Elman said.
“They were recognized for what they did this year and that was pretty great to see those guys get honored for their efforts,” Elman said.
On offense, senior running back Tyler Vitzthum, senior lineman Owen Terwilliger and junior wide receiver Jamison Heinz were selected.
On defense it was senior tackle Jacob Weisbrich, senior linebacker Lucas Volf and junior linebacker Matt Miller.
Players named honorable mention include senior defensive back Joey Busse, senior linebacker Timmy Larson, senior linebacker Sawyer Savery and junior defensive back Jacob Thurm.

See full story in this week's Humboldt Independent Newspaper. Subscribe today for print/digital access by selecting the link on this page to get started!

Rate this article: 
No votes yet