Scholl edges Jensen, challengers top Humboldt School Board races

Winners from Tuesday's general election included from left: Dan Scholl as mayor of Humboldt, Joel Goodell as Ward 3 Council member, Kathy Yoakam, Kristi Clark and Tate Satern as members of the Humboldt Community School District Board of Education.

Contested races for the Humboldt Community School District Board of Education earned sweeping victories for the challengers, while the Humboldt mayoral race was closer than some people may have thought.
The complexion of the Humboldt Board of Education will change, as three new members will take seats on the Board.
Tate Satern was running unopposed in Director District No. 1 and he won with 1,477 votes.
In Director District No. 2, Kristi Clark outpolled incumbent Kyle Kluender 1,050 to 583, a 64 to 36 percent margin.
In Director District No. 4, Kathy Yoakam received support from 1,186 voters to 424 votes for incumbent Brody Clark, a 74 to 26 percentage advantage.
Yoakam is a former educator and K. Clark is a current teacher. Both campaigned on wanting to improve the relationship between the board of education and the district and to support educators in the district and support ideas and plans for great student achievement.
One of the other closely watched races Tuesday was for Humboldt Mayor. It featured a battle between two-term incumbent Dan Scholl, and former Mayor Walter Jensen. Jensen served as Humboldt’s mayor for eight years (2008-2015), before being soundly defeated by Scholl in 2015.
But this year’s race was much closer. According to unofficial totals Tuesday night, Scholl defeated Jensen by a tally of 608 to 529, 79 votes.
Scholl captured the majority in Wards 1 and 3 and in the absentee ballot count, while Jensen outpolled Scholl by 26 votes in Ward 2. Scholl voiced his support for the downtown revitalization project, while Jensen was vehemently opposed and said the effort was a waste of money.
Humboldt had three city council seats on the ballot with one contested race. In Ward 3, incumbent Joel Goodell was seeking a third term against challenger Ariel R. Echevarria. Goodell received 257 votes according to unofficial totals, to 91 for Echevarria.
In Wards 1 and 2, Council members Matt Dominick and John Sleiter were running unopposed. Dominick collected 382 votes in Ward 1 and Sleiter won Ward 2 with 247 votes of 256 cast.
Humboldt had three candidates for Park Board Commissioner. Tom Tecklenburg (919), Christopher Lau (684) and Tom Nostrom (756) were unopposed and all elected.
In other city election races around the county, incumbency ruled in several mayoral contests, incumbent mayors who were challenged, Royden Miller in Bode and Marc Ropte in Thor were both elected by wide margins. In Hardy and Rutland, the vote totals were closer. Kathy Petersen won re-election as Hardy’s mayor with 11 votes, compared to 8 for challenger Dennis Lippolt. In Rutland, longtime Mayor Roxanna Gregory topped challenger Cory Larson 17 votes to 10 votes.
Hardy was the hotbed of political activity in the county. Outside of Ward 3 in Humboldt, it featured the only contested races for council seats.
There were five candidates for three at large seats with James Hutchinson (12), Austin N. Thompson (12) and Jeff Crutcher (11) gaining the most votes. They edged out Leonard Ferry and Teri Cerwick, both with eight. For the at large council seat to fill a vacancy, Ron Cerwick received 11 votes, defeating Douglas Lippolt with eight.
For complete official election results see the Nov. 14 issue of the Humboldt Independent or updates at

Rate this article: 
No votes yet